In a MiVoice Business solution where the CloudLink Daemon is enabled and the
CloudLink Gateway is deployed on all MiVoice Business nodes acting as primary
user controllers, secondary failover user controllers, or those with a CloudLink SIP
trunk, PBX data is automatically synchronized to CloudLink once the following tunnels
are started:
- CloudLink Gateway CLGW REST Interface
- MiVoice Business CLGW REST Interface
These tunnels are automatically started upon the successful completion of the CloudLink
Gateway deployment. Afterward, Account Administrators can initiate a synchronization
process at any time to ensure that user, group, and contact information in CloudLink
accurately reflects the configuration of the connected PBX systems (MiVoice Business
nodes).
When the synchronization starts, the system performs preparatory checks to verify the
status of the PBX systems and retrieve key data such as users, groups, and contacts.
- If critical issues are detected—indicating problems accessing a PBX system or
CloudLink—the synchronization pauses.
- If non-critical issues are detected, Account Administrators have the option to
proceed with a partial synchronization.
- If no issues are detected, Account Administrators can proceed with the
synchronization seamlessly.
Throughout the process, the Mitel Administration interface provides clear indicators of
success or failure, helping Account Administrators easily monitor and manage the
synchronization.
Before starting the synchronization process, ensure the
following conditions are met:
- CloudLink Gateway Deployment: The CloudLink Gateway must be deployed, and
the CloudLink Daemon must be enabled on all MiVoice Business nodes that serve as
primary user controllers, secondary resilient failover user controllers, or
those with a CloudLink SIP trunk.
- MiVoice Business nodes accessible: The MiVoice Business nodes you wish to
sync must be properly configured and accessible. The synchronization will only
work if these PBX systems are available and online.
- Account Administrator Permissions: Only Account Administrators can
initiate synchronization. Ensure that you have the necessary permissions to
access the Sync the system option.
To sync the system, perform the following steps:
-
Click in the left navigation pane.
-
Click
and select
Sync the system.
The System Sync – Data Retrieval window appears,
displaying a table that lists CloudLink and all PBXs linked to the customer
account (essentially, all applications in with the mivoice-business
application type).
The table includes the following columns:
|
Name
|
Description
|
|
SOURCE
|
Displays either CloudLink or the IP of a PBX linked
to the customer account.
|
|
STATUS
|
Indicates the status of the source (e.g., online,
offline).
|
|
USERS
|
Indicates whether user information has been
successfully retrieved.
|
|
GROUPS
|
Indicates whether group information has been
successfully retrieved.
|
|
CONTACT
|
Indicates whether contact information has been
successfully retrieved.
|
-
Wait for the data retrieval process to complete.
As the system retrieves data, the table is updated with visual indicators
reflecting the status of each check.
Initially, the system checks the status
of CloudLink and each PBX (for example, online or offline):
Online: If the status is online, the system proceeds to retrieve
data from the source.
Offline: If the status indicates offline, data retrieval does not
proceed from that source. This is considered a critical issue, and
synchronization cannot proceed.
Once the source’s status is confirmed as
Online, the system will
attempt to retrieve the following data in this order:
- Users: Information about users in the source.
- Groups: Information about groups associated with users in the
source.
- Contacts: Contact data from the source.
If data retrieval fails for any category (users, groups, or contacts), an
error icon will appear, indicating which data type could not be retrieved.
If user data retrieval fails, group data retrieval for that source will also
be marked as failed, and no further attempts will be made to retrieve group
data. However, the system will still attempt to retrieve contact data for
the source.
Visual indicators in the table show:
Successful retrieval
Failed retrieval.
-
Review the data retrieval results.
An overall data retrieval status icon and message below the table indicate
whether synchronization can proceed. If issues are encountered, additional
links will appear, providing more detailed information.
The images below illustrate the different data retrieval scenarios:
Figure 1. Successful: Data retrieval was successful, and
synchronization can proceed
Figure 2. Warnings: Some issues were encountered, but partial
synchronization can still proceed
Figure 3. Failure: Critical issues were detected, and
synchronization cannot proceed
Source status Offline, which appears in the above
example, is considered a critical issue; therefore, the synchronization
cannot proceed.
-
If issues, critical or not, are detected:
-
(Optional) Click Download Problem Report to
download the problem report as an Excel file.
Note: You cannot return to this page to download the report at a later
time. You can always start the Sync the
system process again, but this will result in a new
report being generated.
-
After reviewing or downloading the report, select the Any
desired information has been copied or downloaded
checkbox.
-
If the synchronization cannot proceed, click OK to close
the dialog.
-
If synchronization—whether full or partial—can proceed and you want to sync
data to CloudLink, click Continue.
-
Wait for the synchronization process to complete.
Once synchronization is complete, the
System Sync – Results
Summary window appears, displaying a summary of the
synchronization results for each entity involved in the synchronization process:
Users, Groups, Contacts. Each entity has its section in the summary with an icon
indicating if the sync was completed with warnings, failures, or neither. If no
data was synced for an entity, a message indicating "Skipped" will appear.
Figure 4. System Sync - Results Summary - Users sync completed with
failures, groups sync completed successfully, and contacts sync was
skipped
Figure 5. System Sync - Results Summary - Users sync completed with
warnings, while groups and contacts sync completed successfully
-
Click on a section to expand it and view detailed information,
including:
-
Click any link within a section to view more detailed information. Once
you have reviewed the details, click Return to
Summary to go back.
Figure 7. Users Sync - Failures
-
To collapse an expanded section, simply click on its header.
-
(Optional) Click Download Summary Report to download the
sync results as separate Excel files for users, groups, and contacts. These
files contain detailed information on all entities synced and any issues
encountered.
Note: You cannot return to this page to download the report at a later time. You
can always start the Sync the system process again,
but this will result in a new report being generated.
-
After reviewing the results and downloading any required data, select the
Any desired information has been copied or downloaded
checkbox, then click Done to close the dialog.